Former chairman of Western Murray Irrigation Cheryl Rix is the new chair of Lower Murray Water as from October 1.

Ms Rixm formerly the Deputy Chairm steps up to  the main role in the new Labour Government appointments to Lower Murray Water, which will have newcomers Rob Fowler, an environmental engineer; Irymple Horticulturist Warren Lloyd and Mildura lawyer Michelle Oates as Board members.

They replace former chairman John Tesoriero and Mildura solicitor Kay Martin, who did not seek re-appointment.

Mr Lloyd replaces Mr Tony Mathews, who was the previous horticulturist on the Board.

Re-appointed to the Board were Mallee Catchment Management Authority Chair Sharyon Peart, former Tandau CEO Guy Kingwill, strategic communications expert Liz McDonald and banker Jason Kambovski.

The Government also announced on Monday that as from October 1 there will be two new members on the Mildura based Mallee Catchment Management Authority.

The new members are Robert Mathews and Ms Jaqualyn Turfrey, who replace the late Bruce Jones and former Mildura Rural City Councillor John Arnold.

Another former Mildura Rural City Councillor Sharyon Peart remains as Chair of the Auhority.

Other members re-appointed are Allison McTaggert, John Cooke, Anthony Martin, Geoff Anderson, Ms Kellie Nulty and Ms Elizabeth Marwood.