A last minute surge by Nangiloc brushed aside Gol Gol for the Demons to win their first Millewa League flag since 1995 at Lake Cullulleraine on Saturday.

Held to just one goal to half time a transition came over the match after Robert Lindsay (hamstring) was replaced by Lachlan Dowdy, who became the most important forward on the field.

The Demons only goal in the first half came from a long run by defender Sam Lee, who was playing his 150th Millewa League games for the Demons..

In a low scoring tight quarter Gol Gol scored only three goals in the opening half – single goals to Nathan Manuel, Gareth Collinson and Robert Williams.

At the last change Gol Gol still led by 13 points but two goals to Dowfy put the game in the reach of Nangiloc, which outplayed the top team.

The Grand Final medallion was won by Ned Duthie, who rucked tirelessly and marked well around the ground.

Pictured on the right with the cup is coach John Guthrie, who coached from the sidelines because of a suspension from the second semi final. On the left is Nangiloc Captain David Keens, who kicked two goals in the third quarter to keep his side in contact at the last change.


NANGILOC    0.3,  1.6 ,  5.8 , 9.10 (64)

GOL GOL       1.2,   3.4,   7.9,  7.13 (55)

GOALS: Nangiloc: Lachlan Dowdy 4, David Keens 2, Sam Lee, Troy Francis, Scott Golding. Gol Gol: Gareth Colliinson 2, John Coleman, Robert Williams, Nathan Manual, Darren Brown, Don Falvo.

BEST:  Nangiloc:  Ned Duthie, Josh Berry, Reece Knights,  Dale Breeding,  Jye Berry, Kurt Freer, Troy Francis, Scott Golding, Lachlan Dowdy.   Gol Gol:  Sam Curran, Don Falvo, Daniel McLeod, Darren Brown, Nathan Manuel, Jack McLean, James McGlashan.

Werrimul 6.3 (39) defeated Bambill  3.3 (21)

A Grade: Cardross 41 defeated Werrimul 33

A Reserve: Werrimull 30 defeated Gol Gol 26

B Grade: Bambill 36 defeated Gol Gol 22

C Grade: Cardross 26 defeated Werrimull 15

Juniors: Gol Gol 29 defeated Bambill 21