In complete contrast to the two previous Sundays where strong winds caused havoc, host club Red Cliffs Football Netball Club turned on perfect conditions for Sunday’s grand finals.

A very good crowd attended both football and netball finals and all games were played in excellent spirit.

 Netball results.

 Under 13 Div 2.   South Mildura 30 defeated Red Cliffs 25.

After a close match early South Mildura got out to a handy lead either side of half time and held out to win by five goals.

Player of the match   Mikayla Lia of South Mildura.


Under 13 Div 1   South Mildura 24 defeated Mildura 23 to inflict Mildura’s first loss for the season. The Doggies came from as much as six goals down late in the third quarter to win a thriller.

Player of the match  Alannah Morello of Mildura

 Under 15 Div 2    Irymple 38 defeated Mildura 32 in a match in which the Swallows always just held sway over a gallant Demons team

Player of the match  Alejandra Retamoza-Modoo of Irymple

 Under 15 Div 1.   Irymple 44 defeated Mildura 19. Undefeated all year the Swallows were always in control

Player of the match   Mackenzie Ryan of Irymple.

 Football results

 Under 13’s  Irymple 10-8  68 defeated Red Cliffs 1-1  7 to win the Rod Nokes Premiership Cup.  Irymple were undefeated all season and had far too much run from their midfield which set up numerous shots on goal.

 Winner of the Higgins medal for best afield as chosen by AFL Development Officer Trevor Ryan was Macey Eaton of Irymple

Both coaches nominated an opposition player to receive an engraved pen. Macey Eaton (Irymple) and Toby Wise (Red Cliffs) were the winners

 Under 14’s    Robinvale Euston 12-11  83 defeated Mildura 3-2  20  Despite being trounced in their previous encounters Mildura battled gamely early keeping the Eagles goalless in the first quarter.

However the Eagles started to get on top in the second quarter eventually running out winners against a brave Demon team. Robinvale Euston win the Neil Hurley Premiership Cup.

The Evelyn and George Andrew medal as chosen by AFL Development Officer Trevor Ryan was won by Moala Polata of Robinvale Euston.

Moala also won the engraved pen being nominated by Mildura coach as the Eagles best whilst league under 14 medallist Jack Norton won the Mildura best player award.

 SFUA umpires participated in both games with Gavin Krake and James Sammut officiating in the centre.

Special thanks also to goalies Jason Veit and “Elvis” Dowdy while Elijah Riordan, Josh Reck, Tom Kelleher and Nathan Doherty ran the boundaries.