Retired Mildura veterinarian Neville Japp has been awarded life membership of the Mildura Harness Racing Club.

The presentation was made at the Mildura Harnesss Racing Club Awards Night held at the Ray Hepworth Centre on Friday night.

The presentation to Dr Japp was made by Club President Mr Alan Lister, who paid tribute to his great service over several decades.

Dr Japp was a professional vet for 47 years until he retired in 2014.  He became a veterinarian in 1967 and in 1977 establish one of the first regional veterinary hospitals in the State at Mildura, a facility which is still operating successfully today.

The volunteer award was presented to Sharon Prothero for her tireless work in organising, supporting and running Pony Trots at Mildura meetings in recent years.

Her daughter Chelsea Prothero won the award for the Pony Trot driver of the year.

Leading driver at Mildura for the 2016-17 season was Emma Hamblin while Nathan Weightman was the recipient for the award for leading concession driver.

The leading trainer trophy was won by Sandra O’Connor of Mildura, a former member of the committee.

The horse of the Year trophy was taken out by the Ian Watson South Merbein trained pacer Flojos Gold, the winner of 10 races this season including a feature race at the Mildura Pacing Cup Carnival and the inaugural Sunraysia Pacing Cup held on August 24.

The employee of the Year award went to Mick Lowery, the stablehand of the year award went to David Nunn, who works for Boris Devcic and the leading owners were Peter and Avis Argiro.