Mildura East is on track to take outright points and a place in the finals after scoring a hurried 5/189 from 30 overs after dismissing Nichols Point for a mere 112 all out from 41 overs.

Irymple’s finals hopes took a dive despite dismissing Workers Gol Gol for 125 in its first innings after Scott Steel took 7/41 from 19 overs.

He was well assisted by all-rounder Daniel Coghlan, who took 2/41 off 15 overs and retained his wicket in an Irymple first innings collapse.

The Swallows will resume with Cochhlan being 23 not out while Steel is at the wicket surving the last two balls of the day.

Irymple are 5/33 in its chase for a win after the two openers Mal Button and Jordan Payne were dismissed for a duck.

Workers Gol Gol would be disappointed with 130 as they were 0/65 at one stage before opener Aiden Calarco was out for 47, which was top score.

Merbein South batted first to be all out for 120 runs from 49.3 overs. Wicketkeeper Ethan Gray top scored with 60 runs while Ashley Durie contributed 17.

At stumps in replay Mildura West are 1/76, having lost Englishman Tom Hope who was dismissed by Shane Trinick for three runs.

Opener Ben Hallam (32) and keeper Lachlan Skinner (35) are still at the crease with West in a good position to take the points and stay in finals contention.

Coomealla Wentworth had a disastrous start to be 5/16 early in the game against Mildura Settlers at McLeod Oval, Wentworth.

A stubborn Colby Wade refused to throw his wicket away and from 186 balls scored 47 runs as he kept one end intact.

Last batter Kobe Smith gave him support and the 10th wicket put on 51 runs to give the home side a first innings tally of 130.

Mildura Settlers started in a blaze of running scoring with Jason Morrison hitting up 31 runs from 20 deliveries.

Bevan Wade picked up Morrison and the other opener Luke Stanbrook (17) with the score 2/40 at stumps.

Paddy Keogh and night watchman Mark Kerr will resume next week.



Nichols Point 112  v Mildura East 5/189(cc) 

Coomealla Wentworth 130 (Colby Wade 47 not out, Jack Bourne 36,  Matk Kerr 3/14, Like Stanbrook 3/23,  BJ Wood 2/21)  v Mildura Settlers 2/40 (Jason Morrison 31,  Bevan Wade 2/2)

Irymple 5/33 (Matt  Cameron 2/2)   v Workers Gol Gol 125 (Aiden Calarco 47,  Scott Steel 7/41, Daniel  Coghlan 2/19)

Mildura West 1/75 (Lachlan Skinner 35 no, Ben  Hallam 32 no) v  Merbein South 120 (Ethan Gray 60  Chris Williams 4/38, Brandon Dixon 2/8)