Australia’ s most decorated side car rider Darrin Treloar with passenger Jesse Headland smashed the track record at Mildura Motorcycle Club’s Curly Carmes Sidecar Spectacular on Saturday night.

In the heats Treloar returned a time of 60.2 deconds but this was matched by the Riverland's Aaron and Teagan Hartwig in another heat.

But then Treloar became the first sidecar rider to break the magic one minute on the Mildura track with a time of 59.94 seconds.

The Treloar/Headland combination went into the A Final after finishing with 15 points from the round of heats with three other riders all level with 13 points.

Positions were then decided by ballot.

In the B Final locals Byren Gates and Mick O’Loughlin took a post in the A Final by defeating Neale Hancock and Brock Gates, who had dipped out of the A final under  the ballot system.

Third in the B Final was the Broken Hill combination Darren Howse and Jack Wheeler with Mildura’s Chris Dess and Cameron Diwell 4th.

In the final Treloar started from the inside gate and quickly took the lead after a short battle at first with the Hartwig’s before  Mick Headland took an inside line and moved into second in the back straight and chased the leader home for the remainder  of the race.

Treloar was first, Mick Headland/Brenton Kerr were second,, the Hartwig’s third and Gates/O’Loughlin fourth.